Kosher Terms M to Z

Mashgiach

Mashgiach - one who is trained to supervise kosher food production.

Mehadrin

Mehadrin refers to the most stringent level of kosher supervision.

Mikvah

Mikvah, literally, gathering, refers to a structure, a ritualarium, in which water is gathered for purposes of immersion.

Milchig

Milchig - dairy, refers to dairy products as well as dishes, utensils, and equipment used in their preparation.

Mevushal

Mevushal refers to wine which has been cooked.

Orla

Orla refers to the Torah commandment to wait for three years before partaking of any fruit from fruit-bearing trees. The forbidden fruit of this period is known as orla.

Pareve

Pareve - neutral, indicates a product which contains no derivatives of poultry, meat, or dairy ingredients and can therefore be eaten with either a meat, poultry or dairy meal. Pareve items include all fruits, vegetables, legumes, grains, eggs, kosher fish, etc.

Pas Yisroel

Pas Yisroel refers to baked goods prepared in ovens which are turned on by the mashgiach.

Shechita

Shechita - the Torah prescribed manner of slaughtering an animal or fowl for consumption.

Shochet


Shochet - one who is specially trained to slaughter kosher meat and poultry according to the Jewish tradition.

Shmitta


Shmitta refers to the agricultural cycle observed in Israel, in which every seventh year the land lies fallow.
Tevilas Keilim
Tevilas Keilim, meaning dipping of utensils, refers to the immersion of vessels, utensils, or dishes in a ritualarium (mikvah) before their first use.

Tovel

Tovel means to dip or immerse in a ritualarium (mikvah).
Traiboring
Traiboring refers to the process of removing forbidden fats and veins from meat in order to be prepared for the next stage of kashering, namely, the salting process.

Treifah


Treifah refers to food that is not kosher. The term is generally used to refer to all foods, vessels, and utensils that are not kosher. Literally, it means an animal whose flesh was torn or ripped.

Yoshon

Yoshon, literally, old, refers to the grain that has taken root before Pesach, even if it is harvested after Pesach. It is called "old grain." It is permitted to be eaten without restriction. When a product is yoshon, it means that yoshon grains, including wheat, barley, oats, rye, spelt, were used in its preparation.